A man setting out to achieve the fitness levels of a Navy SEAL

Day 31, Navy SEAL Workout: Upper Body PT, Swim, Run

All right, let’s get this party started… Week 6 y’all! To be honest, this workout was so daunting just reading through it before I embarked on this journey, I wasn’t REALLY sure if I had what it took. I was pretty sure, but that lingering doubt in the back of my mind would creep in from time to time… I am happy to report that I have stuck with this crazy program for 5 full weeks, had a great start on week 6 today, and have no plans on stopping. I feel like the more I do, the more I CAN do. Crazy maybe, but true, and just plain AWESOME. Today’s workout was the following:

10 SUPER SETS

Pullups  8

Pushups  20

Abs of choice  20

Dips  10

ABS SUPER SET X2

Hanging knee ups  10

Regular situps  30

Oblique Crunch (left & right, 30 each side)  30

Atomic situps  30

Crunches  30

Reverse crunches  30

NECK EXERCISES

up/down: 40

left/right: 40

SWIMMING

Swim continuously with fins for 45 min.

Goal: 1.5-2 miles

RUNNING

4-mile Track Workout:

Jog 1 mile (in 7 min.)

3 sets of: Sprint 1/4 mile, jog 1/4 mile (in 1 min. 45 sec.)

6 sets of: Sprint 1/8 mile, jog 1/8 mile (in 1 min.)

BEAT. Not that anything was particularly more taxing than the next in this workout, just the amount of reps, super sets, sprints… ugh! BEAT. The 10 super sets of Upper Body PT and 2x Abs super sets took around 1.2 hours or something like that. I tried to do them quickly, with only minimal rest between cycles. Toward the end of the Upper Body circuits I was slowing down a bit, but I still knocked everything out.  ; )  For the “Abs of choice” I chose to do regular situps for 2 sets, then leg levers for 2 sets, and cycled those back and forth. They felt gooooooood. The pool, as usual, was closed today, so I plan on swimming extra tomorrow to make up for today. At the end of the Abs super sets I felt I needed a little extra pump, so I did 2x sets of 10 Pullups & 25 Pushups. That brings my total completed reps for today to:

100 Pullups

250 Pushups

100 Dips

520 Abs

80 Neck

4 miles Sprint/Jog running

My left calf is still pretty tight and a little painful to run on, so I figured I’d give it another couple of days off to help it heal up. It will be of no use to me injured, when I can’t run at all… So, I had to get a temporary pass at my local Gold’s Gym. Man, I HATE gyms. Especially ones filled with douche-bag steroid meat heads looking at everyone else constantly, staring people down, and checking themselves out in the mirrors… Fuels the fire ALMOST as much as idiots “driving” on the road. After the reception guy’s little schpeal I hopped on an elliptical machine and started going. I kept the “level” selector at about 5 of 20, just for a little resistance. I kept up a decent pace for the first mile, then cranked out the sprint/jog combos as hard as I could. I had little to no calf pain, or any other kind, really. I was sweating BUCKETS since I was able to push the pace to full sprint and really adhere to Stew’s outline for this one. I felt good about it, pushed it hard, then got the HELL out of the douche-palace.

Oddly enough, on my way in to Gold’s parking lot before this track workout, I saw a rough-looking guy getting on a Harley Streetster (I think…). Not overly big or built, just like he’d been around the block and could handle himself. He had shorts on and I took notice of a smallish tattoo on his left ankle… The skeleton frog emblem of the SEALs. I didn’t have time to ask about it or say hello before he took off- parking was my first priority. Kind of cool, though. I take it as a sign I was supposed to go there and complete this workout instead of taking the day completely OFF from running. Little mental boost, LOL.

So, that complete’s Day 1 for Week 6. I’m stoked on it, great day so far. Now, off to The Groundlings to do more ab workouts… ; )

*I have begun my immediate quest to be a part of “The Dark Knight Rises” while it films here in LA this month. My plan to join the cast is in full swing… Muuuuuaaaaaaahhhaaaaahaaahahahaahahaaaaaaa!!! This WILL happen, mark my words. Updates WHEN I get in to follow. ; )

Words for the day: Follow your dreams, for they will not follow you. Give it everything you got.

MC

The quest begins...

2 responses

  1. “…I feel like the more I do, the more I CAN do. Crazy maybe, but true….”
    Same here, Sharkman. Belief has a lot to do with it. Most people BELIEVE that they are “just built that way” – they can’t get ripped because they don’t believe they can…….what shrinks call a self-fulfilling prophecy.

    BELIEVE! CONTINUE MISSION!

    October 11, 2011 at 12:43 PM

  2. “My left calf is still pretty tight …..”
    STRETCH TWICE – BEFORE AND AFTER.
    Injury prevention is key. You’re going to the next level. Disregard most aches and pains.

    October 11, 2011 at 12:49 PM

Leave a comment